It’s easy to delete your TikTok account through the app.
To delete TikTok, tap the three-dot menu in your profile tab, then tap “Manage my account” and “Delete account.”
Once you confirm your decision, your account will be “deactivated” for 30 days. After 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted.
If you never signed up for a TikTok account, you can just uninstall the app.
Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories .
Whether you have
privacy concerns or you’re troubled by what short-form videos might be doing to your attention span, there are valid reasons why it may be time to delete your TikTok account.
If you do choose to delete your TikTok, keep in mind that all of your videos will be deleted unless it was saved or downloaded by another user. So before you do the deed, make sure to
save any favorite videos on your phone.
Once you back up the videos you’d like to keep, here’s how to say goodbye to TikTok for good.
How to delete TikTok account
If you downloaded the app just to watch videos and never signed up for an account, you can just delete the app from your phone. If you do have an account, follow the steps below to actually delete your account.
Open the TikTok app, and tap the “Me” profile button in the bottom right-hand corner of the app.
Tap the three-dot menu in the top-right corner of the screen.
Select “Manage my account” and then tap “Delete account” at the bottom of the screen.
Follow the on-screen prompts and tap “Delete account” again to confirm your decision.
Important: After this process, your account will only be “deactivated”. In case you change your mind, simply log back in to reactivate your account. After 30 days, deleted TikTok accounts are permanently closed and cannot be recovered.
After you delete your account, the last and final step to permanently deleting TikTok is to uninstall the app from your phone.
Is TikTok safe? Here’s what you need to know How to delete your Instagram account permanently, or temporarily deactivate it How to delete yourself from the internet with 5 different methods How to permanently delete your Google account, but save all your emails and other data