How to delete Spotify playlists and clean up your streaming library from the desktop or mobile app

Spotify on Android
You can delete your Spotify playlists from the desktop and mobile apps.

  • To delete a Spotify playlist, you’ll need to open it and choose “Delete” from its options menu.  
  • When you delete a Spotify playlist, it’ll disappear from your Library, but it’ll still be available to anyone who subscribed to it.
  • If you don’t want to delete a public playlist, consider hiding it through the “Make Secret” option in the playlist’s Settings menu. 
  • Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Spotify has become one of the most popular streaming platforms thanks to its near endless amount of curated playlists. 

Personalized playlists like Discover Weekly and Wrapped are different for each user, based on algorithms that track listening habits. Editorial playlists are curated by Spotify employees, who carefully sift through the music library to craft playlists for moods, holidays, and more. Listener playlists are made by users who have complete control of what they add and are offered recommendations based on that. 

You can share these playlists with family or friends, or save them to your Library to listen to anytime. You can also collaborate on these playlists with other Spotify users.

But with so many playlists to choose from, it’s easy to end up with a clogged Spotify library. That’s why Spotify makes it easy to delete any playlist.

Just note that when you delete a playlist that others have subscribed to, it’ll only be deleted from your Library – your subscribers will still have it. You can fully delete it for them too by removing all the songs.

And if you want to keep the playlist, but don’t want others looking at it, you have the option to make it private and hide it from other users.

Here’s how to delete a Spotify playlist using the desktop or mobile app.

How to delete Spotify playlists on a computer

1. Open Spotify on your PC or Mac.

2. In the left sidebar, click on the playlist you want to delete.

3. Click on the three dots (…) underneath the playlist’s title to open its options menu.

4. Click “Delete” and click it again to confirm.

Delete Spotify Playlist 2
Click the three dots in the top-left corner of your playlist’s tracklist to access the options.

How to delete Spotify playlists on a mobile device

1. Open Spotify and tap “Library.”

2. Open the playlist and tap the three dots (“…”) to open the options menu. On an iPhone, these dots will be below the playlist’s title. On an Android, they’ll be in the top-right corner.

Delete Spotify Playlist 3
These dots are in different spots depending on what phone you have.

3. Tap “Delete” and tap it again to confirm.

Delete spotify playlists 4
You’ll be prompted to delete the playlist.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Read the original article on Business Insider

How to use a Spotify Group Session to stream music playlists and podcasts simultaneously with friends and family

When you buy through our links, we may earn money from our affiliate partners. Learn more.

Spotify app and headphones
With Spotify Premium’s Group Sessions, you can listen to the same music and podcasts with others simultaneously.

  • A Spotify Group Session allow users to listen to a playlist or podcast simultaneously from anywhere they can access the web player or mobile app. 
  • You must be a Spotify Premium member to access and use the Group Session feature. 
  • Spotify Group Sessions can include anywhere from two to five members who are invited via a custom link.
  • Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Thanks in part to its dynamic listening and discovery features, Spotify has become one of the most popular ways to enjoy your favorite songs, artists, and more. 

Now, Premium members can take their Spotify experience to another level with Group Sessions. Launched in July 2020, the feature allows users to simultaneously listen to the same playlist or podcast from wherever they are via a unique link. 

In group sessions, listeners can pick tracks and add them to the main queue running via the device that initiated the session. Anyone invited to the Group Session can listen from their device or listen on yours while controlling it from their own.

A group session can feature two to five users and is available via the desktop or mobile app. And you can choose to leave or end a group session at any time by tapping the appropriate option at the bottom of the page. 

If you want a truly shared listening experience, here’s how to launch your own Spotify Group Session. 

How to use a Spotify Group Session 

1. Open Spotify. 

2. Click or tap the “Device” icon in the Spotify app screen’s lower right-hand corner. 

Group Session Spotify 1
The icon will look like a phone, computer screen, TV, or more, depending on which devices are connected to your Spotify.

3. Scroll down until you see the “START SESSION” button under the “Start a group Session” header. 

4. Now, tap “Invite Friends.” 

5. From here, you’ll have two options for inviting others to your Spotify group session. 

  • Share a link: Copy the group session’s unique link to the social media app of your choice or paste it into a text or email to send it to another Spotify user manually. 
How to use Spotify Group Session 3.PNG
You can share a link to your Spotify group sessions with friends.

  • Spotify code: Let anyone you want to add to your group session scan the unique Spotify code found on the sharing page. 
Group Sessions Spotify 2
Let group members scan the share page code and get immediate access to your group session playlist.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Read the original article on Business Insider