How to clear cache, history, and cookies on iPhone for Safari and iOS apps, to free up space and improve speed

Clearing iPhone cache
You can clear your iPhone cache for Safari and other apps, or offload apps to increase storage space.

  • You can clear cache, history, and cookies on your iPhone for Safari to improve speed and performance.
  • You can also clear cache for iPhone apps by offloading or deleting them to free up space.
  • When you clear cache, you may lose some saved data from Safari or iPhone apps, like passwords and files.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Apple offers several ways for iPhone users to clear their cache, whether it’s for Safari or iOS apps.

When you clear cache on iPhone for Safari, it means all the files, images, passwords, and scripts from previously visited websites will be wiped. You can also clear cache on iPhone apps by offloading or deleting them.

Clearing cache for Safari and certain apps can free up space on your iPhone, improving speed and performance by removing unnecessary app data.

Here’s how to clear cache on your iPhone.

How to clear cache, history, and cookies on iPhone for Safari

To clear cache on your iPhone, select Safari in the Settings app and click “Clear History and Website Data.”

Here’s a full step-by-step guide:

1. Open the Settings app and click Safari.

2. Tap “Clear History and Website Data.”

Cache 4
Tap Clear History and Website Data to clear your Safari cache, history, and cookies.

3. Your device will double-check that you want to clear Safari’s data. Click through the message that follows.

How to clear cache on iPhone for apps

To clear cache on iPhone apps, you’ll need to offload them. Offloading an app will free up storage space used by the app while still keeping its documents and data. If and when you reinstall the app, your data will be reinstated.

1. Open the Settings app.

2. Select “General” and tap “iPhone Storage.”

Cache 6
The iPhone Storage option should be beneath the Accessibility option.

3. Select the app you want to offload and tap “Offload App.”

Cache 7
Tap Offload to remove the app and make space on your iPhone.

4. Select “Offload App” from the pop-up window to confirm your choice. You can also delete the app if you no longer need it.

How to clear cache on iPhone for apps with a cache feature

Some apps have a cache feature that make it easy for you to clear it directly in the Settings app. Here’s how to find it:

1. Open your iPhone’s settings.

2. Scroll until you see the eligible app, then tap it.

3. Look for a “Clear cache” option. If the toggle next to it is green, tap it to clear the app’s cache.

How to clear the Bluetooth cache on your phone or tablet to fix issues with your connectionHow to clear the Instagram cache on your iPhone to free up storage spaceHow to clear the cache on your iPad to make it run more efficientlyHow to clear the cache on your Mac computer to make it run more efficiently

Read the original article on Business Insider

How to turn on incognito mode on your computer and phone to browse the web privately

Using phone
Incognito mode is an essential part of any web browser.

  • Incognito mode, also known as private browsing mode, stops your web browser from saving data about you as you browse.
  • While incognito mode is on, your internet history, search history, autofill information, and cookies will be disabled.
  • Incognito mode is available in every major web browser, and is perfect for doing work that needs to be kept private.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Incognito mode – also known as “private browsing mode” – is a sneakier way to use the internet.

When you browse the internet with incognito mode on, you won’t leave any trace on the device you’re using. Your browser won’t save your browsing or search engine history, and won’t remember what sites you’ve logged into – or even what your username and password is.

It’s great if you share your computer or phone with other people, since no one else will be able to see what you’ve done once you close the window.

Nonetheless, incognito mode is great for enforcing privacy on a busy or shared device. Here’s how to turn on incognito mode on your computer or phone.

How to activate incognito mode or private browsing on your Mac or PC

Incognito mode is a feature in every major browser, although each browser tends to give it a different name. When you activate a private session, a new window will open – this is your incognito window.

When you’re done, just close the window to exit incognito mode.

How to activate incognito mode or private browsing on your phone or tablet

The browser on your phone also comes with private browsing options. We’ll explain how to activate it using the default browsers for iPhones, iPads, and Android devices.

How to organize tabs in a Safari browser on a Mac computerHow to set up autofill on your Windows computer’s web browser, and have your addresses and passwords automatically typed for youYou can now change the default web browser on your iPad to your favorite browser’s app – here’s how to do itHow to change your default search engine in Google Chrome, and switch between Google, Bing, and more

Read the original article on Business Insider