How to turn off retweets on Twitter from accounts you follow, so you only see their original tweets

twitter app
Twitter lets users mute retweets from people they follow.

  • You can turn off retweets from Twitter accounts you follow, so you only see original tweets from them.
  • Once you’ve turned off retweets, you can turn them back on at any time.
  • To mute retweets from an account, you’ll need to head to that account’s profile and click “Turn off retweets.”
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

It’s easy enough to get lost in an endless scroll through your Twitter feed, without having to sift through tweets from people you don’t even follow. Yes, we’re talking about the retweet.

Retweeting lets you repost someone else’s tweet onto your own profile. It’s great for sharing tweets that you love.

But if someone you follow retweets everything in sight – and not much of it is interesting – you can mute their retweets, so you only see original content. Just note that you can’t turn off all retweets at once; instead, you’ll need to mute each account individually.

Here’s how to turn off retweets from accounts you follow, using Twitter’s desktop website or app.

How to bookmark tweets on Twitter so you can reference them laterHow to find your Drafts on Twitter and create or delete themHow to limit replies to your Twitter posts, so that no account or only certain accounts can replyHow to make Twitter appear in dark mode to reduce battery strain on your computer or mobile device

Read the original article on Business Insider