How to use Microsoft Family Safety to manage your family members’ app usage, screen time, and more

Microsoft Family 1
You can manage your family’s devices in various ways through Microsoft Family Safety.

  • Microsoft Family Safety is a parental control app that lets you manage your kids’ screen time and app usage, among other features.
  • Family Safety is free but requires everyone to use a Microsoft account, and there are premium features available with a Microsoft 365 subscription.
  • The parental controls work across multiple devices, but browsing can only be filtered using the Edge browser.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Microsoft Family Safety is more or less just what the name implies: It’s Microsoft’s family safety and parental controls app that you can use to manage your kid’s screen time and device usage.

To use the service, you need to install the Microsoft Family Safety app on each mobile device you want to manage, and every family member you want to track needs a Microsoft account.

What to know about Microsoft Family Safety

Once configured, Microsoft Family Safety monitors the screen time and time spent with specific games and apps on phones, tablets, and Xbox. Parents can do more than just monitor usage as well: You can turn on screen time limits and schedules, and filter specific apps and web browsing. The app also tracks locations using mobile device GPS, so you can see where your family members are.

Most of these features are free, though some premium features are only available if you have a subscription to Microsoft 365 Family, most notably location alerts and drive safety features.

How to get started with Microsoft Family Safety

Microsoft Family 2
You must install Microsoft Family Safety across devices and sign in to your Microsoft account to use it.

To use Microsoft Family Safety, you’ll need to install the app on each of your family member’s devices. You can install Microsoft Family Safety for Android or for iOS. Start by installing it on your mobile device as a parent and sign in to your Microsoft account.

Unless you’ve already created a family group, you’ll initially be the only member of your family. Tap “Add a family member” and enter their email address associated with their Microsoft account. If your child doesn’t yet have a Microsoft account, tap “Create a child account” and follow the instructions to create one for them. They will get an invitation to join your family group; if needed, help them accept the invitation and get started with Family Safety.

Microsoft Safety 1
You can add your entire family to your family group and manage how they use their phones, apps, and web browsers.

Be sure to install the Microsoft Family Safety app on each of your kids’ devices, signing them into their own Microsoft accounts.

Using the map and tracking your family’s location

Microsoft Family 3
You can enable Microsoft Family Safety to display the location of your family members.

Microsoft Family Safety displays the location of your family members on a map, as long as you’ve enabled that feature in Settings.

To see the map, start Microsoft Family Safety and tap “Map” at the top of the screen. You should see pins for each family member.

If you want to, you can add saved locations to the map, which Microsoft calls “places.” When someone goes to that location, you’ll see it displayed on the family member’s card on the home page, so you can tell at a glance where they are.

What is Microsoft 365? Here’s what you need to know about the subscription service to Word, Excel, and other Microsoft programsWhat is Microsoft Teams? Here’s what you need to know about the workplace communication toolHow to integrate Google Drive with Microsoft Office so you can easily share files and collaborate across platformsWhat is Microsoft Sway? How to use the powerful presentation program, and how it differs from PowerPoint

Read the original article on Business Insider

How to turn on incognito mode on your computer and phone to browse the web privately

Using phone
Incognito mode is an essential part of any web browser.

  • Incognito mode, also known as private browsing mode, stops your web browser from saving data about you as you browse.
  • While incognito mode is on, your internet history, search history, autofill information, and cookies will be disabled.
  • Incognito mode is available in every major web browser, and is perfect for doing work that needs to be kept private.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Incognito mode – also known as “private browsing mode” – is a sneakier way to use the internet.

When you browse the internet with incognito mode on, you won’t leave any trace on the device you’re using. Your browser won’t save your browsing or search engine history, and won’t remember what sites you’ve logged into – or even what your username and password is.

It’s great if you share your computer or phone with other people, since no one else will be able to see what you’ve done once you close the window.

Nonetheless, incognito mode is great for enforcing privacy on a busy or shared device. Here’s how to turn on incognito mode on your computer or phone.

How to activate incognito mode or private browsing on your Mac or PC

Incognito mode is a feature in every major browser, although each browser tends to give it a different name. When you activate a private session, a new window will open – this is your incognito window.

When you’re done, just close the window to exit incognito mode.

How to activate incognito mode or private browsing on your phone or tablet

The browser on your phone also comes with private browsing options. We’ll explain how to activate it using the default browsers for iPhones, iPads, and Android devices.

How to organize tabs in a Safari browser on a Mac computerHow to set up autofill on your Windows computer’s web browser, and have your addresses and passwords automatically typed for youYou can now change the default web browser on your iPad to your favorite browser’s app – here’s how to do itHow to change your default search engine in Google Chrome, and switch between Google, Bing, and more

Read the original article on Business Insider